Bobby McFerrin!?

5402434

When I was little I really really loved that song by Bobby McFerrin “Don’t Worry Be Happy”. My Grandmother was really impressed because I knew every word to the song and I was about 6 maybe? She actually bought me the 45, for you little ones, that is a record of either 7″, 10″ or 12″ called a 45 because you had to run it 45 RPMs, I had the small 7″ single. Anyways I just loved that song and thought it was amazing when I learned that he made the whole song with just his voice. Bobby McFerrin is usually thought of a a Beat box artists, which I would agree with, but to pigeon whole him into that small a category is not doing him justice.

Another thing I remember about Mr. McFerrin is that I heard he committed suicide like in the early 90’s I guess that was an untruth because he is still doing him. All these memories cam back to me in a rush and made me smile because of this clip I came across. The genius that comes with a person who plays and fully understands music in its most basic form is just mind boggling to me.

Mr. McFerrin displays his genius in this clip where he shows a little of how the brain is influenced by music and how at its basic level it understands music and the language of sound.

Please enjoy this clip http://vimeo.com/5732745 and some other clips of Mr. McFerrin at the World Science Fair

http://vimeo.com/5822555 http://vimeo.com/5823223

The Don’t Worry Be Happy Music Video http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x1xuvd_bobby-mcferrin-dont-worry-be-happy_music

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

