Earth Day!

earth2

Okay I am sure this is just one of many posts about the day that is Earth, but here it go.

For a while now I have been using a surge protector as an means to save energy. All of my appliances, electronics, or anything else I own that requires electricity has been attached to a surge protector. The only items not are my Fridge and alarm clock.

Every morning or whenever I venture outside of my apartment I just click the switch and all the little red, green, yellow, or whatever color lights go out and vampire energy consumption is halted. I reckon I have saved quite a bit of money by doing this. It is hard to tell just how much because I have never gone without, but I am sure it was enough to purchase GRIMLOCK, or any one of my many unnecessary items.

If you are lazy and know you are not going to bend down to click the button or your surge protector or it is just some place not easy to reach Belkin has made a nifty, yes nifty, little remote operated surge protector. This would be a hell of a lot easier because you can mount it close to your light switch and when you turn off your lights you can turn of your electronics. You can find it here if you would like to check it out along with many other surge protectors that Belkin makes, http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatSectionView.process?Section_Id=207100/ The whole line is here, http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatSectionView.process?Section_Id=201475

Some people would argue that turning of electronics fully is bad because they need that little bit of energy. NO, they are wrong I have never had an issue and I have been doing this for a year and it is usually just for internal clocks, automatic updates, or easier on off operation all of which are no real consequence as they will performed once power is restored.

    • mj
    • April 23rd, 2009

    Good Idea…. But Isn’t your dvd player always blinking 12:00?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

