Massachusetts?

massachusetts_90

The great state of Massachusetts is where I am writing this post from. I feel like all the history of the United States and its beginnings flow through me as I attempt to put word to post.

Okay not really but I wanted to say something real prolific and shit!

I feel like I need to share with the world the black hole that is Brockton  Massachusetts, or maybe just Massachusetts in general. I say it is a black hole not for its appearance, people, or for any other reason than the fact that time appears to not follow the rules here.

Being that I live in New York I generally eat, sleep, work, and take part in functions later than most of the United States. In Massachusetts I am completely thrown off my game. I will give you an example, I generally sleep or feel sleepy around 11:00 to 12:00 pm during the work week, yes early for some in NYC but I gotts tu work. In Massachusetts a normal day is doing nothing but watching television and going to the mall. Exactly what I want to do when I am trying to relax and enjoy not having to work. The thing that kills me is as I am watching television at night or playing a game with my brother I begin to feel tired. Everyone else in the house has gone to sleep or is in bed going to sleep so I think maybe its time for me to lay down as well, until I look at the clock and it says 8:00 pm. Never am I ever tired at 8:00 pm, I am usually just eating dinner, but in the black hole of MA 8:00pm is LATE!

I can not figure this anomaly out for the life of me. I have confirmed this feeling with many other people, who live in NYC and go to MA for a visit. Once you cross that line that says Welcome to Massachusetts time ceases to exist as you once knew.I am not sure if it is the  fact that you feel the energy of the city around you in NYC that allows you function at a later time or what. Maybe Mass is like a yawn, if one person yawns then everyone yawns. When Mass goes to sleep then you are following suit, no ifs ands or buts.

Don’t get me wrong, the days are amazingly long as well, they just seem to never end and you can do as many things as you want. The only thing is the days are actually shorter because you are going to sleep at 8:00 pm! Every time I visit I feel so lost in time it freaks me out. I know it is 8:00 but it feels like midnight.

Please if anyone can explain let me know, or even if you have any thought on this phenomenon, comment because I can’t figure ish out.

    • Young Money
    • March 15th, 2009

    choicee…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

